The climate system consists of five major components: 

  • the atmosphere 
  • the hydrosphere 
  • the cryosphere 
  • land surface
  • the biosphere

The climate system is continually changing due to the interactions between the components as well as external factors such as volcanic eruptions or solar variations and human-induced factors such as changes to the atmosphere and changes in land use.

Source: WMO